kimaracretak (
fiachairecht) wrote2021-08-16 10:30 pm
Entry tags:
a few thoughts on modding
- Allowing participants who DNW a character to claim that a fandom tag that includes that character name is a DNW violation is extremely questionable. If you're going to do that, you better make damn clear in your rules that any use of a fandom tag implies that everything in that fandom is canon.
- In general, banning participants for tagging a specific fandom, when the content of the work does not include DNW'd characters, ships, or elements and the canon itself was not DNW'd, is bonkers, if not outright bad.
- If you request MCU Pepper/Natasha, DNW Tony Stark, and cannot handle your creator tagging their work 'Iron Man (Movies)', you have no business requesting MCU Pepper/Natasha. If you do request it anyway in one of my exchanges, and your gift is tagged 'Iron Man (Movies)', reject it and move on, I will not do anything about it.
- If you request MCU Pepper/Natasha and DNW your creator tagging their work 'Iron Man (Movies)' that is a bad-faith DNW and I will not enforce it in any exchange I mod.
- Misrepresenting your modding decisions in public or private, including removing specific language from your posts just because it supports banned participants, is bad.
- In general, banning participants for tagging a specific fandom, when the content of the work does not include DNW'd characters, ships, or elements and the canon itself was not DNW'd, is bonkers, if not outright bad.
- If you request MCU Pepper/Natasha, DNW Tony Stark, and cannot handle your creator tagging their work 'Iron Man (Movies)', you have no business requesting MCU Pepper/Natasha. If you do request it anyway in one of my exchanges, and your gift is tagged 'Iron Man (Movies)', reject it and move on, I will not do anything about it.
- If you request MCU Pepper/Natasha and DNW your creator tagging their work 'Iron Man (Movies)' that is a bad-faith DNW and I will not enforce it in any exchange I mod.
- Misrepresenting your modding decisions in public or private, including removing specific language from your posts just because it supports banned participants, is bad.

no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
>.>
no subject
no subject
*virtual hugs*
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I had to read that twice to make sense of it. How can someone make that request and not expect the obvious outcome. That's like... shooting your foot off and being unhappy you don't have toes surely.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
....Then again my partner's mature enough it would never occur to them to ask for that, so.
no subject
no subject
And tags. TAGS. That would be the outside of acceptable, and if someone were going to throw fits about seeing an unwanted media name tag, I'd probably just tell them to learn how to use greasemonkey and be done with it.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I agreed with the mods when I first heard about it (misrepresented, as it turns out). But having more information now, my opinion has shifted to it being a bad call, and, again, one that was all the more regrettable because I've had good experiences with some of the people involved and have had a lot of respect and love for them.
I feel like if you're going to run an exchange you have to make peace with the fact you can't please everyone. Sometimes you have to tell a friend no, even if you really like them. Sometimes someone finds a DNW you didn't remember to put in your list when you signed up, and it sucks, but - it happens! You put on the big pants and you DNW: any plot or mention from iron man next time. Sometimes you have to take it on the chin if the rules you put up lead to intentions that you don't foresee and just try to figure out how to make it better next year.
It's never a good look if you're deleting the information to try to make yourself look better; that's generally a pretty damn big sign you messed up. I hope the mod team recognizes the mistake and does some soul-searching about how to avoid this happening again next year.
But that said, I feel like all I can do as a mod (and a mod in an active exchange rn no less involving some of these people) is to try to keep the rules consistent and avoid any situations like this happening. Modding is sort of a thankless job -- no one remembers you if you do it well, but if you mess up people don't forget it.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject